$30.00 Inc GST

Available on backorder

Categories: , ,


Perhaps the most successful album of Patty Griffin’s nearly 20-year career in music is the one that never got released.
“Silver Bell,” a powerful, heartfelt collection of folk-rock songs intended for release in 2000, has sat on Universal Music’s shelves for 13 years – having gotten lost in the shuffle during a regime change at her then-label A&M Records. But two of the songs found a major audience several years later, when the Dixie Chicks made hit singles out of stark ballad “Top Of The World” and plucky empowerment anthem “Truth #2.” Other tracks, like “Making Pies” and “Mother Of God,” were re-recorded by Griffin and appeared on later albums like “1,000 Kisses” and “Impossible Dream,” respectively.
But the original recordings remained the stuff of fan legend, with leaked files circulated among fan circles for years.
But on Oct. 8, “Silver Bell” will finally get an official release — complete with new mixes by famed producer Glyn Johns (The Who, The Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin), available at all major digital and physical music retailers via Universal Music Enterprises. The new version will feature 13 updated mixes of “Silver Bell”‘s original 14 tracks, plus one freshly unearthed track, “Fragile.” The tracks were initially recorded at Daniel Lanois’ Kingsway Studio in New Orleans, and features a guest appearance by Emmylou Harris on backing vocals for “Truth #2.”