$28.00 Inc GST

Available on backorder

Categories: ,


When Matthew Sweet and Susanna Hoffs recorded their first Under the Covers collaboration, they were surprised that it was released with the subtitle “Vol. 1.” Whatever genius at the Shout! Factory label chose to do that deserves a raise and a promotion, as it led Sweet and Hoffs to record two more volumes. Where Volume 1 consisted of songs based in the ’60s, and Volume 2 was made up of ’70s songs, Volume 3, released this week, is all about the ’80s, the decade when Hoffs came of age as a musician and Sweet wasn’t far behind. The greatest joy about this series is that these releases are not so much cover albums as tribute albums. As these are tributes, listeners shouldn’t come in looking for revelatory reworkings – there’s pleasure to be had from seeing just how closely Sweet and Hoffs can replicate the sound of the originals

Tracklisting :

1. Sitting Still (R.E.M. cover)
2. Girls Talk (Elvis Costello / Dave Edmunds cover)
3. Big Brown Eyes (The dB’s cover)
4. Kid (The Pretenders cover)
5. Free Fallin’ (Tom Petty cover)
6. Save It For Later (The English Beat cover)
7. They Don’t Know (Kirsty MacColl / Tracy Ullman cover)
8. The Bulrushes (The Bongos cover)
9. Our Lips Are Sealed (The Go-Go’s / Fun Boy Three cover)
10. How Soon Is Now (The Smiths cover)
11. More Than This (Roxy Music cover)
12. Towers of London (XTC cover)
13. Killing Moon (Echo and the Bunnymen cover)
14. Trouble (Lindsey Buckingham cover)