GEOFF ACHISON ‘Sovereign Town’ CD

$25.00 Inc GST

Out of stock

Categories: , , ,


In late 2017 Geoff teamed up with a 4-piece combo in Ballarat, Victoria to work on some acoustic tunes. The initial rehearsals sounded promising and so a local recording studio was sought. They settled on Ric Formosa’s Pilgrimage Studio not far from the heart of town and began tracking in January of 2018. Adopting more intimate and organic approach than past releases, Geoff led the band with his acoustic guitar, asking for emphasis on the ‘song’. The project boasts 11 new compositions plus a new arrangement of Ben Harper’s great song ‘Walk Away’. The studio band features Andy Fry on upright bass, Dave Clark on drums and Liam Kealy on Hammond organ. Vocalist John McNamara dropped by singing harmony on three tracks with Geoff also adding a variety of overdubbed guitar parts.